121st Burdett Trophy and 87th Puffin Cup teed up for July 6

Golf 1

COLOMBO: (ePRESS) – One of the world’s oldest inter-club golf tournaments, the 121st Burdett Trophy, and the 87th Puffin Cup, will take place on July 6 at the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club. The events are proudly sponsored by SLT-MOBITEL, serving as the principal sponsor and communication partner.

A press conference to announce the SLT-MOBITEL sponsorship and the MoU agreements between the two club captains was held at the Royal Colombo Golf Club on Monday.

The Burdett Trophy will feature four foursome matches in the morning, followed by eight singles matches in the afternoon. The Puffin Cup will include four foursome matches in the morning and four singles matches in the afternoon.

The Burdett Trophy, founded in 1902, is celebrated globally as one of the oldest inter-club golf tournaments. The Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC), established in 1879, and the Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC), founded in 1889, bring over a century of competitive history to this prestigious event.

In addition to these historic tournaments, the 125th Anniversary Trophy and the Masters Cup will also be contested between these two traditional clubs. For the first time in history, a Junior Event featuring top junior golfers from both clubs will be conducted.

The five tournaments are proudly sponsored by Sri Lanka Telecom-MOBITEL, with representatives from the company including Chief Operating Officer Sudharshana Geeganage, Chief Marketing Officer Prabhath Dahanayaka, and General Manager of Marketing Charaka Perera.

Representing NEGC at the press conference were Vice President of NEGC and National Olympic Committee Chairman Suresh Subramaniam, NEGC President Sudath Getawakande, and NEGC Captain Air Chief Marshal Harsha Abeywickrama.

From RCGC, Captain Amrith de Soya, Committee Member and former Test cricket captain Mahela Jayewardene, and President Avancka Herath participated in the event.

Golf 1
Sudharshana Geeganage, COO of SLT MOBITEL (third from right), is seen handing over the sponsorship cheque to Sudath Getawakande, President of Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (third from left). Also pictured (from left): Mahela Jayawardene, Former Sri Lankan Test Cricket Captain and Committee Member of RCGC; Harsha Abeywickrama, Captain of NEGC; Prabath Dahanayake, Chief Marketing Officer of SLT MOBITEL; and Charaka Perera, General Manager Marketing of SLT MOBITEL.
Burdett Trophy photo 1
RCGC Captain Amrith de Silva (right) exchanges MoU with President of NEGC President Sudath Getawakande



error: Content is protected !!