Aurora Synchro Club sweeps Artistic Swimming Nationals

Artistic swimming

Aurora Synchro Club’s double delight in National Artistic Swimming Championship

Aurora Synchro Club sweeps Artistic Swimming Nationals

Aurora Synchro Club (ASC) emerged as the undisputed champions in both the Senior and Junior categories at Sri Lanka’s National Artistic Swimming Championship, organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union (SLASU). The event took place on October 14 and 15 at the Air Force Sports Complex Swimming Pool in Ratmalana.

In the Senior category, the defending champions, ASC, showed their mettle by accumulating 11 points, successfully retaining the Senior National Championship title after a fierce battle with Visakha Vidyalaya, who secured 10 points and took the runner-up position. Musaeus College’s artistic swimmers secured third place with three points in the two-day competition.

ASC’s dominance continued in the Junior category, where they clinched the Junior National Champions title with an impressive 13 points, overcoming Ladies’ College, who secured the runner-up position with 8 points. Last year’s Junior winners, defending champions Visakha Vidyalaya, had to settle for third place with just 3 points.

In the Senior National Solo category, Piyushi Kulasekara of Visakha Vidyalaya claimed the top spot with 154.6533 points. Kanteli Durairajah of ASC secured the silver medal with 154.1396 points, and Lourdi Perera of Visakha Vidyalaya took the third spot with 151.0663 points. In the Duets category, Lourdi Perera and Jithmi Perera of ASC were crowned winners with 153.8971 points, followed by the silver medalists Piyushi Kulasekara and Manekha Gomez of Visakha Vidyalaya (151.9221). Shasheni Fernando and Sandali Sumathipala of Musaeus College earned the bronze medal with 147.7475 points.

The Junior category saw Satvi Arjuna of ASC securing the top position with 107.2140 points. Ayla Watson Kittle of Ladies’ College claimed second place in Junior Solo with 103.5589 points, while Sanuki Suraweera of ASC won the bronze with 101.9159 points. In the Duets, Satvi Arjuna partnered with Sanuki Suraweera to emerge as winners with 103.1358 points, with silver medalists Ayla Watson Kittle and Andrea Thirukumar of Ladies’ College earning 89.2347 points. The bronze went to Dhananji Senanayake and Saheli Kulasekara of Visakha Vidyalaya with 79.1887 points.

A total of four teams showcased their talent in this prestigious event: Aurora Synchro Club, Visakha Vidyalaya, Musaeus College, and Ladies’ College. With 24 elite swimmers competing across different age categories, the championship represented the pinnacle of artistic swimming in Sri Lanka.

error: Content is protected !!