Commercial Bank’s Anju Hewage Seals Championship Win


Last year’s runner-up, Commercial Bank, emerged as the triumphant team in the ‘A’ Division of the 3rd Mercantile Hockey 9s Championship organized by the Mercantile Hockey Association at the Air Force grounds in Ekala last Sunday.

In a tense final showdown, former Sri Lanka national hockey captain Anju Hewage scored the decisive goal, leading Commercial Bank to a thrilling 1-0 victory over the defending champions, Hatton National Bank.

The tournament, played on a knockout basis, featured four divisions: ‘A’ Division, ‘B’ Division, ‘C’ Division, and ‘D’ Division, each consisting of four teams. The nine-side matches showcased the skills of 15 teams, with one team withdrawing from the competition.

The league stage clash between Commercial Bank and Hatton National Bank concluded in a goalless draw. Earlier in the tournament, Commercial Bank secured 1-0 victories against MAS Holdings and Sampath Bank, earning their spot in the nail-biting final.

In other divisions, Browns Group claimed the ‘B’ Division title, Seylan Bank emerged victorious in the ‘C’ Division, and Sampath Bank clinched the ‘D’ Division title.

As a tradition at the beginning of each year, the Mercantile Hockey Association divides its teams into four divisions, setting the stage for an exciting year of competitive hockey. Commercial Bank’s triumph in the ‘A’ Division marks a stellar start to their hockey campaign, showcasing skill, strategy, and determination on the field.

The champion Commercial Bank hockey team: Standing (from left): Theeekshana Balasooriya, Sudarshana Dissanayake, Milina Bandaranayake, Sachindra Herath, Sumith Jayasena (Team Manager), Milan Ariyawansha, Malinga Weerakkody (Captain), Charith Dissanayake. Kneeling (from left): Heshan Hewawasam, Devshan Thilanka, Harith Weerawardhane, Manuja Gunawardana, Anju Hewage.
error: Content is protected !!