Hat-trick of wins for Lyceum Wattala girls’ swimming team

Lyceum Wattala girls swimming team 1

WATTALA: (ePRESS) – The Lyceum International Wattala girls’ swimming team has won their third consecutive championship this year. They clinched the Western Province National Schools Games Swimming Championship, held at the Sugathadasa Stadium Swimming Pool complex last week. The event was organized by the Ministry of Education.

Earlier this year, the Lyceum Wattala girls’ team also won the Relay Carnival and the National Age Group Swimming Championship, both organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union. This latest victory completes their triple crown in swimming for the year.

Led by captain Poojani Jayaweera, the team scored 82 points, just ahead of Ladies’ College with 79 points, Musaeus College with 67 points, and Visakha Vidyalaya with 58 points. They secured nine gold medals, four silver medals, and four bronze medals.

The team benefits from the expertise of Olympic swimmer Julian Bolling as the consultant coach. Mohomed Imran is the head coach, assisted by Pradeep Sanjeewa, Hazni Hameed, and P. Kulaweera. Dilrukshi Dalugama is their Teacher-in-Charge.

The Lyceum Wattala boys’ team also did well, finishing fourth overall in the boys’ division. Captained by Eran Kodithuwakku, the boys’ team won four gold medals, five silver medals, and four bronze medals, earning a total of 48 points. They outperformed Royal College, which scored 41 points, DS Senanayake College with 34 points, and Gateway College Colombo with 26 points.

The boys’ overall title was won by St. Peter’s College with 113 points, followed by Ananda College with 96 points, and St. Joseph’s College with 78 points.

Lyceum Wattala girls swimming team 1
Lyceum Wattala Girls Swim to Victory in Western Province Championship: Back row (from left) Head Coach Mohomed Imran, Coach Pradeep Sanjeewa, Mithuki Kodithuwakku, Michaela Wimalasena, Martha Fernando, Inuki Muthuhetti, Navanjana Sriwardana, Danisha Ganishki, Seyara Wejeysinghe, Dilushi Dilsara, Sehanya Jayasinghe, Poojani Jayaweera (captain), Ohasi Uthsara, Teacher-in-Charge Dilrukshi Dalugama, Coach P.B. Kulaweera. Front Row (From left): Gayashi Gunasekara, Manumi Nethulima, Sanuji Yehansa, Senuji Thevanya, Dewarya Zaan, Kulansa Gahena
Lyceum Wattala swimming team
Unstoppable: Lyceum Wattala Swimming Team Wins Again
error: Content is protected !!