Lyceum’s Jayasooriya and Sangamitta’s Palliyage clinch u11 titles

Under 11 Boys 1

Colombo,  Jan 7, Sun – Ruvin Jayasooriya from Lyceum International School Wattala and Sethumlee Palliyage from Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya Galle emerged as the Under-11 champions in the recent National Youth Chess Championship held at Dharmapala Vidyalaya Pannipitiya.

Facing stiff competition from 514 players in 10 intense rounds, Jayasooriya clinched  the title, securing an impressive 9 out of 10 points. His only setback occurred in the fifth round, but undeterred, he claimed the coveted Under-11 Age Group Championship title. Vihanga Kithmina of Clayton College in Henpitagedara and S Bhavithran of Singing Fish Chess Club secured the first and second runner-up positions, respectively, with superior tie-breaks.

In the Under-11 Girls Segment, featuring 296 players in nine rounds, Sethumlee Palliyage of Sanghamitta Vidyalaya demonstrated exceptional talent, securing the championship title with a score of 8.5 out of 9 points. She only had a draw in the last round. Chanuli Rehansa of East Arawwala Dharmapala Maha Vidyalaya secured the runner-up place, while Hasandie Akuratiya of Ferguson High School Ratnapura claimed the second runner-up spot with a superior tiebreak.

The championship featured an individual Swiss-format tournament for each age group, ranging from Under-7 to Under-19. The time control for the entire championship was set at 90 minutes plus a 30-second increment per move. The event highlighted the promising talent of young chess enthusiasts, highlighting their dedication and strategic brilliance on the chessboard.

Under 11 Boys
Boys Under-11 Winners: (from left) second runner-up Vihanga Kithmina (Clayton College, Champion Ruvin Jayasooriya (Lyceum Wattala) and first runner-up S Bhavithran (Singing Fish Chess Club).
Under 11 Girls
Girls Under-11 Winners: (from left) Second runner-up Hasandie Akuratiya (Ferguson High School), Champion Sethumlee Palliyage (Sangamitta Vidyalaya), runner-up Chanuli Rehansa (East-Arawwala Dharmapala Maha Vidyalaya).
error: Content is protected !!