Puttalam and Kegalle celebrate victory in Youth Volleyball Championships

Puttalam District Volleyball Team 1 2

Maharagama, Dec 24, Sat – The Puttalam District Boys Team and Kegalle District Girls Team emerged as the champions in the thrilling finals of the 35th National Youth Services-Rupavahini Challenge Trophy Volleyball Championships held at the National Youth Centre in Maharagama on Saturday.

In a highly contested match, the Puttalam District spikers secured their title with a hard-fought 3-2 victory over the Gampaha District Men’s Team. The match concluded with a scoreline of 22-25, 19-25, 25-15, 26-24, and 11-15 in favor of the Puttalam District team. Meanwhile, in the Women’s final, Kegalle District dominated, securing a clean sweep with a 3-0 victory (25-17, 25-19, 25-16) over Puttalam District.

The Boys’ third-place match witnessed the Kegalle District Boys Team securing victory over the Colombo District Boys Team with a commanding 3-0 scoreline (25-16, 25-14, 25-2). In the Girls’ third-place match, Gampaha District Girls Team triumphed over Badulla District Girls Team by 3-1 (35-21, 19-25, 16-25, and 24-26).

Champions were honored with a cash prize of Rs 150,000, while the Runners-up received Rs 100,000, and the third-place winners took home Rs 75,000. Individual awards were presented to the Best Setters, AA Saheer of Puttalam District, and Sumithra Priyadarshani of Kegalle District, each receiving Rs 10,000. Best Attackers Isura Madushan of Gampaha District and Nimeshika Sewwandi of Kegalle District were also awarded Rs 10,000 each. The Best Defensive Players, Thiran Santhush, and Udeshika Shrimali of Puttalam District, received Rs 10,000 each.

The chief guest of the final was former national volleyball player Acting Media and Postal Minister Shantha Bandara. The event was graced by National Youth Services Council Director General/Chairman Pasindu Gunaratne and Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation Deputy Director General (Programs) Sumedha Athulasiri as the guests of honor.

Puttalam District Volleyball Team 1 2

Kegalle District Volleyball Team


error: Content is protected !!