Sri Lanka tennis whiz kids serve up excitement in Vietnam

Tennis photo

Colombo, Jan 5, Fri – A promising team of six junior tennis players from Sri Lanka is preparing for a thrilling journey to Vietnam, where they will participate in the prestigious ITF Asia Under-14 Development Tennis Championship in Hanoi. The championship is scheduled to commence from January 8 to 18, marking an exciting opportunity for these budding athletes.

In the boys’ category, all eyes are on Risith Somaratne, representing Ananda College, who secures the top seed. Right behind him is Aslin de Silva from St Peter’s College, ranked second among the talented players. On the girls’ side, the formidable Sandithi Usgodarachchi of Musaeus College claims the top seed, closely followed by Akeesha de Silva of Newstead Girls College Negombo in second place, and Annaya Norbet of Holy Family Convent Bambalapitiya securing the third spot. Adding to the team’s strength, Mayooran Kubherene from St Peter’s College is prepared as the stand-by player for the tour.

These exceptional players earned their spots through rigorous Selection Trials conducted by the Sri Lanka Tennis Selection Committee. The committee carefully handpicked three male and three female players based on their outstanding performance and potential.

Guiding the team towards success is Coach Thevanesan Subramaniam, a mentor dedicated to nurturing talent and honing skills. The tournament, hosting teams from 14 nations, promises a challenging yet exciting experience for the Sri Lankan team. The competition will see them face off against counterparts from South, Southeast, and East Asian countries, creating a platform for cultural exchange and fierce competition.

As these young athletes start on this international journey, they not only represent their schools but also carry the hopes and aspirations of Sri Lanka’s tennis community. The nation eagerly anticipates the outcome of their efforts, confident that they will make their mark on the global tennis stage.

Tennis photo
(from left): Aanya Norbet (Holy Family Convent), Akeesha Silva (Newstead College), Sandithi Usgodaarachchi (Musaeus College), Pradeep Goonasekara (General Secretary SLTA), Iqbal Bin Issack (President SLTA), Thevanesan Subramaniam (Coach), Ashlin de Silva (St Peter’s College), Mayooran Kubherene (St Peter’s College), Risith Somaratne (Ananda College)
error: Content is protected !!