Thurstanite Janiru and Mahamaya’s Hasini crowned Under-7 champs

Chess Under 7 Boys 2

Colombo, Jan 10, 11AM – In last week’s National Youth Chess Championship by the Sri Lanka Chess Federation at Dharmapala Vidyalaya Pannipitiya, Janiru Nethmitha from Thurstan College and Hasini Ranasinghe from Mahamaya Girls College Kandy stood out in the Under-7 category.

In the Under-7 Boys section, Janiru played nine rounds among 449 players, securing 8.5 points with just one draw in the fourth round. Sanul Sanyuga from Boswell International College and Rasindu Mithsara from Royal College Horana claimed second and third places with better tiebreak scores.

In the Girls Under-7 category, Hasini Ranasinghe triumphed with 8.5/9 points in nine rounds, drawing only in the fifth round. Nethumi Perera from Taxila Vidyalaya Horana and TI Bandara from Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalaya Kurunegala secured second and third positions with superior tiebreaks.

The four-day championship, featuring 4,076 players across various age groups from Under-7 to Under-19, marked the largest-ever Sri Lanka National Youth Chess Championship. The tournament used a Swiss format, and players had a time control of 90 minutes plus a 30-second increment from the first move. Luxman Wijesuriya, the President of Sri Lanka Chess Federation, and other executive members graced the awards ceremony.

Chess Under 7 Boys 1
Boys Under-7 Winners: (from left) Second Runner-up Risindu Mithsara (Royal College, Horana), Winner Janiru Nethmitha (Thurstan College), First Runner-up Sanul Sanyuga (Boswell International College)
Chess Under 07 Girls 1
Girls Under-7 Winners: (from left) Second Runner-up TI Bandara (Maliyadeva Balika Vidyalaya), Winner Hasini Ranasinghe (Mahamaya College Kandy), First Runner-up Nethumi Perera (Taxila College Horana).
error: Content is protected !!